

Tony Mitchell, Deputy Chair for NEH; David Lewis, MAC Executive Director; Francine Reynolds, NST Artistic Director; John Spann, MHC; Molly McMillan, MHC; Xerron Mingo, NST Education Director; NEA Chair Dr. Maria Rosario Jackson; NEH Chair Shelly Lowe; Shannon Daut, US RAO; Pam Breaux, National Assembly of State Arts Agencies; General Nolen Bivens, Americans for the Arts; Susie Surkamer, SouthArts; Stuart Rockoff, MHC; Ernesto Balderas, Creative States Coalition; David Holland, Creative States Coalition; NST Associate Artists sitting in front, Vern Allen, Jade Dyer, Baxter Evans, Morgan McKay, Paul Pelletier

Dear Francine,

On behalf of Chair Jackson and all of us here at the National Endowment for the Arts, thank you for your hospitality and for makings us feel so welcome in Mississippi last week. It was soul stirring to experience portions of the Anne & Emmett production first-hand. At this time of enormous consequence for our county and the world, it is inspiring to see how New Stage Theatre is confronting difficult issues of hatred and intolerance. I know Chair Jackson appreciated the opportunity to meet you, the New Stage Theatre team, and the talented young cast of Anne & Emmett. Please accept our heartfelt thanks for all that you're to confront ugly and inconvenient truths and tell important stories about the power of empathy and imagination.

We had such a memorable time and we appreciate you sharing your creativity and artistry with us. With gratitude,

Ra

Ra Joy

Chief of Staff | Office of the Chief of Staff National Endowment for the Arts 400 7th Street SW | Washington DC 20506

